You are free to upgrade or downgrade your current Gatsby Cloud subscription at any time. This article describes how to make plan changes and what to expect when you do so.
Initiate a Plan Change
To make changes to your plan go to your Workspace Settings and select Change Plan.
In order to change your plan, you must select the desired
- billing interval (default yearly)
- builds plan
- hosting plan
Plan Change Types
You can make the following kinds of plan changes:
- Upgrade to a higher build and/or hosting plan
- Downgrade to a lower build and/or hosting plan
- Change your billing interval (to or from monthly or yearly)
- Request an Enterprise plan
- Cancel your plan
After you make a selection, the options available to you will depend on the plan you are changing to and whether you have an active paid subscription.
Changing from a Free Plan or Trial
When upgrading from the free plan or a trial, you will be prompted to enter your billing information. After you enter the information, click Start Subscription to confirm the payment. Please note that starting your subscription will immediately end your current trial.
If you are on a trial, you will automatically be returned to the Free plan once the trial ends if you choose not to upgrade.
Changing from an Active Subscription
For active subscriptions, the payment method on file will be used for any changes you make. See the Billing section for details on how your money is handled when you make a plan change.
For upgrades, charges are due immediately upon confirmation and changes will take effect once the payment processes. Please be certain you have selected the correct billing interval (i.e. monthly or yearly) before confirming the plan change.
Your invoice will be available as soon as the plan change completes.
For downgrades, no new charges are due and changes take effect immediately. You will be prompted to provide a reason for your downgrade. This helps us understand how we can improve Gatsby Cloud to fit your needs.
Cancellations work the same way downgrades do. The key difference is that the cancellation will not take effect until the end of your current billing period. This applies to both monthly and yearly billed plans.
A message confirming the pending cancellation details will remain accessible from your Workspace Settings. Contact our Support team to remove the pending cancellation before your billing period ends if you decide that you no longer wish to cancel.
If you wish to explore Enterprise options for Gatsby Cloud, submit a plan change request and our Sales team will get in touch.
This section outlines how we handle your funds when you make a plan change. It covers charges, prorations, credits, and refunds. You can access billing details (invoices, receipts, etc.) from your billing portal.
When you make changes to your plan, if there is an amount due, you will be charged immediately. Charges will be applied to your payment method on file unless a credit is available. If a credit is available, it will be debited first and the remaining balance (if any), will be applied to the payment method on file.
Plan change charges are always prorated based on the time used in your current billing period. Consider the following example with simplified pricing and plans:
- you currently have a paid Standard plan ($10 monthly) subscription
- halfway through the billing period (the current month), you decide to upgrade
- you choose the Performance plan ($20 monthly)
In this scenario, you will be charged
- $5 for the half billing period used on the Standard Plan and
- $10 for the half billing period that remains on the Performance plan.
Since you already paid $10 for your current plan, the balance due is $5. Proration details are shown on your invoice.
When you downgrade your plan, you may accrue a credit balance on your account after charges are prorated. Consider the following example with simplified pricing and plans:
- you currently have a paid Performance plan ($20 monthly) subscription
- halfway through the billing period (the current month) you decide to downgrade
- you choose the Standard plan ($10 monthly)
In this scenario, you will be charged:
- $10 for the half billing period used on the Performance Plan and
- $5 for the half billing period that remains on the Standard plan.
Since you already paid $20 for your current plan, this results in a $5 credit balance on your account.
Your available credit is the dollar amount listed next to Applied Balance on your latest invoice. If there is no applied balance listed, there is no credit on your account.
Refunds are not available for monthly subscriptions. When you cancel your subscription, it will remain active until the billing period ends. After your billing period ends you will no longer be charged.
For yearly subscriptions, contact our Support team to request a refund and we will process it for you. Once processed, your subscription will end immediately. Refunds will be prorated for the time used on the yearly plan. Funds will be returned to your original payment method in 5-10 business days.
If you have a credit balance on your account and you no longer plan to use Gatsby Cloud, you can request a refund. Otherwise, the credit will be applied when you are billed for any new charges on a future subscription.